Physicians of the 112th Congress
February 23, 2011

There are a total of 20 physician members of the 112th Congress including three senators, 16 representatives and a delegate. This up from 16 physician members in the 111th Congress, an increase of 25 percent. Family medicine and obstetrics/ gynecology are the most represented medical specialties with four members each. Emergency medicine, ophthalmology and orthopedic surgery are each represented by two members of Congress while general surgery, cardio-thoracic surgery, thoracic surgery, gastroenterology, anesthesiology and psychiatry are represented with a single member.

Learn more about the 20 physician members of Congress by connecting with them on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

House of Representatives

Rep. Dan Benishek, MD (R-MI-01)
General Surgery

Rep. Charles Boustany, MD (R-LA-07)
Cardio-Thoracic Surgery

Rep. Paul Broun, MD (R-GA-10)
Family Medicine

Rep. Larry Bucshon, MD (R-IN-08)
Thoracic Surgery

Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-TX-26)

Rep. Bill Cassidy, MD (R-LA-06)

Del. Donna Christensen, MD (D-VI-AL)
Emergency Medicine

Rep. Scott DesJarlais, MD (R-TN-04)
Family Medicine

Rep. John Fleming, MD (R-LA-04)
Family Medicine

Rep. Phil Gingrey, MD (R-GA-11)

Rep. Andy Harris, MD (R-MD-01)

Rep. Nan Hayworth, MD (R-NY-19)

Rep. Joe Heck, DO (R-NV-03)
Emergency Medicine

Rep. Jim McDermott, MD (D-WA-07)

Rep. Ron Paul, MD (R-TX-14)

Rep. Tom Price, MD (R-GA-06)
Orthopedic Surgery

Rep. David “Phil” Roe, MD (R-TN-01)


Sen. John Barrasso, MD (R-WY)
Orthopedic Surgery

Sen. Tom Coburn, MD (R-OK)
Family Medicine

Sen. Rand Paul, MD (R-KY)

Bookmark and Share

Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2015, American Medical Association (AMA)